Kootenay Boundary

Columbia Basin Social Issues Media Contacts

Note: Media Contacts are organized by Basin Region (SW = Southwest etc.)

Children & Families

SW Sonia Tavares Early Years Coordinator sonia@thekoop.ca 250-352-6786
NW Tracy Spannier Early Years Coordinator revelstokeecd@gmail.com 250-805-2305
SE Mary Noble Children First Manager East Kootenays ekidsfirst@shaw.ca   250-426-2542
NE Helena Oosthoek Golden Family Centre helena.o@goldenfamilycenter.bc.ca  250-344-2000
NE Kelly Durand  MCFD kelly.durand@gov.bc.ca

Youth

SW Teresa Winter Freedom Quest teresafq@shaw.ca 250-304-2676
NW Megan Shandro Youth Liason Revelstoke info@stokeyouthnetwork.ca 250-814-8290
SE Tara Woods Cranbrook Youth Project 778-977-5434
NE Connie Barlow Golden Community Resource Society cbarlow.gcrs@gmail.com 250-344-2311

Mental Health & Addictions

SW  Cheryl Dowden ANKORS cheryl@ankors.bc.ca 250-505-5507
NW Bertha Stone Interior Health 250-814-2241
SE Dean Nicholson East Kootenay Addictions dnicholson@ekass.com 250-489-4344
SE Elaina Englesby CMHA Kootenays eenglesby@cmhakootenays.org 250-426-5222
NE Mary Lynne Lewis Interior Health 250-344-3015

Housing & Poverty

SW Katie Tabor Nelson Committee on Homelessness ncoh@nelsoncares.ca
NW Jill Zacharias Social Development Coord, jill.zacharias@gmail.com 250-814-3875
SE Darcy Victor MCFD, Poverty Initiative darcy.victor@gov.bc.ca
SE Dana Hill CMHA Housing 250-426-5222 ext 3062
NE Connie Barlow Golden Community Resource Society cbarlow.gcrs@gmail.com 250-344-2311

Food Security

SW Kim Charlesworth Nelson Food Cupboard foodcupboard@shawbiz.ca 250-354-1633
NW Melissa Hemphill Revelstoke Local Food Initiative revelstokelfi@gmail.com
SE Shannon Grey Duncan  Cranbrook Food Action Committee cranbrookfood@gmail.com
NE Stephanie Findlater Golden Food Bank info@goldenfoodbank.ca 250-344-2113

Aboriginal Programs

SW Kris Taks COINS coinations@gmail.com 250-231-4968
NW  Lisa Moore School District 19 Aboriginal Ed. lmoore@sd19.bc.ca 250-837-2173
SE  Charlene Sperling Child & Family Services csperling@ktunaxa.org
NE  Denise Porter hal.denise@gmail.com

Literacy & Settlement

SW  Desneiges Profili CBAL Regional Coordinator  dprofili@cbal.org
NW  Tracy Spannier CBAL, Community Literacy Coordinator  tspannier@cbal.org 250-814-3875
NW Jill Pratt Revelstoke Settlement Services jpratt@okanagan.bc.ca 250-837-4235 ext 6502
SE Betty Knight CBAL, Regional Coordinator bknight@cbal.org 250-417-2896
NE   Monica De CBAL, Community Literacy Coordinator MDe@mail.cbal.org 250-272-6694

Violence Against Women

SW  Anna Maskerine Aimee Beaulieu Transition House  amaskerine@nelsoncommunityservices.ca  250-352-3504
SW  Karoline Kemp Nelson Women’s Centre  karoline@nelsonwomenscentre.com  250-352-9949
NW Nelli Richardson ED Revelstoke Women’s Shelter 250-837-4382
SE Lauren Fox Fernie Women’s Resource Centre fwrc@shaw.ca
NE Linley McLean Golden Women’s Resource Centre gwrced@uniserve.com 250-344-5317

LGBTQ

SW Christopher Moore ANKORS/Transconnect moore_is_good@yahoo.ca 250-354-5362
NW Martin Ralph Chair Revelstoke Safe Spaces Committee safespacesrevelstoke@gmail.com
SE Gary Dalton ANKORS gary@ankors.bc.ca